January 25th

Champion Rea on top after second day of Jerez WorldSBK testing

Reigning double champion Jonathan Rea remained on top of the time sheets after the second day of WorldSBK pre-season testing at Spain’s Jerez circuit.

Despite a fall in the early afternoon which necessitated a trip to the Medical Centre, Rea was able to get back out on track to set a time of 1m39.809s, over three tenths of a second quicker than yesterday’s pace and 0.111s faster than the impressive Lorenzo Savadori on the new Milwaukee Aprilia. Savadori was fastest for a while in the afternoon session, as he acclimatised to his new machinery.

Rea’s Kawasaki team mate Tom Sykes was third ahead of the Ducati Panigales of Marco Melandri and Chaz Davies. A close battle between Melandri and team mate Davies looks likely in 2017, with the pair separated by just 0.011s in today’s test.

Nicky Hayden was sixth on the new Honda Fireblade, 1.3 seconds quicker than his best effort yesterday, with Donington local Alex Lowes seventh on his Pata Yamaha. Xavi Fores, Stefan Bradl and Michael van der Mark completed the top-10.

The WorldSBK season starts on 24-25 February at Australia’s Phillip Island circuit. The only UK round of the championship takes place at Donington Park on 26-28 May, with tickets now on sale at early bird prices until 14 February. Spaces also remain on the infield campsite which will again offer spectacular views of the action, as well as plenty of entertainment long into the evenings. For more information or to book, click here.

Jerez WorldSBK test, day two top-10:

1. Jonathan Rea, Kawasaki, 1m39.809s
2. Lorenzo Savadori, Aprilia, +0.111s
3. Tom Sykes, Kawasaki, +0.410s
4. Marco Melandri, Ducati, +0.504s
5. Chaz Davies, Ducati, +0.515s
6. Nicky Hayden, Honda, +0.739s
7. Alex Lowes, Yamaha, +0.791s
8. Xavi Fores, Ducati, +0.929s
9. Stefan Bradl, Honda, +1.045s
10. Michael van der Mark, Yamaha, +1.641s

Image Credit WorldSBK

© 2017 Donington Park is a trading name of Motorsport Vision Limited Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy Sitemap British Touring Cars Championship